ifnormation

in yr internets, cloggin yr tubes

A Great Net Neutrality Primer

leave a comment »

I haven’t chimed in on Net Neutrality yet. I know it seems foolish of me not to, as I do fashion this blog as one about information. The thing is, I’d just rather not put them in writing, mostly because I’m not going to pretend I know enough about the debate and the history of FCC policy and regulation to expound what I feel are informed opinions. Even some of the best, like Slate’s Jack Shafer, who so entertainingly mocks the trend story, submits some this hilarious alternate universe where the American internet is essentially Minitel and Vancouver becomes today’s Silicon Valley, that gets holes poked in it in the comments.

Not that I don’t have views on the subject: I don’t like government intervention, and a lot of industries do better with out it (craft brewing comes to mind immediately) and Net Neutrality supporters seem to cite a quote from former AT&T CEO Ed Whitacre from 2005 that proves paid prioritization is imminent (in fairness, he also said AT&T wouldn’t do that). Plus, I feel like there’s a whole lot of disincentive for telecoms to interrupt the internet as we know it for fear of a whole lot of backlash. So needless to say, I’m not totally sold on it,  but I’ve also read things that nudge me away from that stance.

In an attempt to get myself educated, I came across this guide from cybertelecom.org, which links lays out both sides of the argument on a case-by-case basis. It’s fairly academic, so expect to spend some time with it. I’m certainly not done with it, but from what I can tell it’s a very good primer.

Written by Matt

December 23, 2010 at 6:26 pm

Leave a Reply

